The Man Behind the Message: Earle Wilson: Part Two

                                       Author and Blogger Earle WIlson

The magazine has been on hiatus for a bit but is back, and is back with Part Two of The Man Behind the Message: Earle Wilson.  Earle Wilson is an African-American author and blogger who has a message for people of all generations, and all races, but we are going to focus in this segment of the interview on his message to African-American males.  I hope you enjoy!!

Li’el: What are your goals/aspirations?  

Wilson: I want to get my publishing company off the ground, that’s the immediate goal.  Beyond that, I would love to complete my degree within the next year.  Transition my publishing company into a full-out production company-music, theater, film, public speaking  I want to start with the publishing company because that is where my strengths lie right now, I want to leave my digital imprint.  From there I want to build.  I consider myself a vicious blend of Spike Lee and Tyler Perry.

Li’el: So why do you consider yourself that?

Wilson: Politically I’m in line with Spike Lee.  I’ve looked up to him for years.  However, though I feel as though I exhibit his strengths, I consider a weakness of his that he is hardline on a few issues that make it hard for America to digest him. Where Tyler Perry comes into play is I can hold a conversation with anybody, from Santa Claus to Barack Obama.  Where Tyler Perry becomes my role model is that I can diversify myself and endear myself to a wider audience than Spike Lee can because he’s hardline on a few of his issues.  That’s why I consider myself a blend.  Not to bash Tyler Perry but sometimes I feel like we have to step away from the deeply religious things, because though I feel as though it is good to have faith and to be spiritually grounded, sometimes you have to get out there and find the answers for yourself, religion is not going to solve the answer to everyone’s problems.  So that is why I consider myself a vicious blend of Spike Lee and Tyler Perry.

Li’el: How do you want to influence people, and what would you like to share?

Wilson: I want people to realize that in order to be successful in this world, you have to go back to your childhood.  We as humans, especially in the West there is so much put on us to conform to the corporate structure and the capitalist mindset that is the west.  And people do that everyday, but when people do that they lose a piece of themselves.  Then they start asking questions like why am I doing this?  Why did I even take this job in the first place?  Why am I in school?  Well, the answer to that, at least for me, was to return to my childhood.  The things I loved as I child have become my strengths, i.e. writing.  My influence, the way I want to affect people is to tell people do the same thing to go back to your childhood.  See if what you loved as a child is still what you love today, then network within that, work within that.

Li’el: What do you have to say to the next generation of male writers in the Afro-American community?

Wilson: Don’t take no for an answer.    Don’t let society tell you what you can write about or who you are.  Brothers might have gone through some things in your past, use your struggles and means to define yourself.  To give an example, a lot of brothers go to prison and say that was the best thing that ever happened to them. In my personal circumstances, I thought to myself I’m here, 24 hours a day for however long I’m here.  And when a lot of brothers come out they drop books, a lot of them get into theater a lot of other avenues.  That’s why I say don’t let your past struggles define who you are, use that as a tool to help you to define who you are.  But at the same time recognize you do not have to go through, what a lot of guys had to go through to get to where you are or need to be.

Li’el: What do you have to say to African-American men in general?

Wilson: Be yourselves.  Don’t be Lil Wayne, don’t be Drake, don’t even be Barack Obama.  Be yourself.  When people do that, people start asking questions about their lives.  That works for them, find out what works for you!

Li’el: What is one thing you want your readers to know about you by the end of this article, if they do not get anything else?

Wilson: I want them to take away that in life, there are no excuses.

 

Earle Wilson is a very strong rising voice in the African-American community, on his way up to influence people of all races to positivity and upward mobility.  His journey and struggles are inspiring, as he has not let anything get him down, and encourages you to do the same.  Check out his blogs Knowledge Equates to Power and Casting Shadows, which can be found on blogger.com.

Li’el

Leave a Reply

